Reiki and the Chakras

To understand Reiki and the hand positions used one will have to have some knowledge of the chakras. The Reiki hand positions as used here in the west covers and treats all the major chakras. The chakras are both connected to the physical organs in our body and the different layers in the aura.

7 centers of energy

Chakra is a Sanskrit word and means "wheel". A wheel that spins around its own axis and can spin fast or slowly. A chakra will spin in relation to the energy level of your system. Where will you find these chakras? They exist within us all. In the same way that we have a physical body we also have a subtile body. Our chakras are parts of a large network of subtile energies.

Today we know that living cells from humans, animals and plants give off invisible energies. Simple groups of living tissue issue a sort of light (aura) that can be seen on a Kirlian photo. Specialized groups of cells that make up physical organs create more organized energy patterns. The human body's system consists of sensory, breathing, circulation, digestion, reproduction and secretion. There are six corresponding chakras for these bodily functions. The brain and the whole being also has one chakra, making a total of 7 major chakras. These chakras are situated at the top of the head, forehead, throat, heart, solar plexus, the navel and at the bottom of the pelvis.

The chakras and the physical body

Every chakra has a corresponding organ in our physical system.
The root chakra belongs together with the large intestine and the rectum. It also has a certain influence on the function of the kidneys.
The navel chakra belongs to the reproduction system, the testicles and ovaries and also the urinary bladder and kidneys.
The solar plexus chakra is in relation to the liver, gall bladder, stomach, spleen and the small intestine.
The heart chakra belongs to the heart and the arms.
The throat chakra relates to the lungs and the throat.
The third eye (forehead) chakra belongs to the brain, face, nose, eyes etc.
The crown chakra does not have a corresponding organ but is related to the whole being.

There is a clear connection between the condition of a chakra and the condition of the corresponding organ. A chakra can be over active, under active or in balance. Using Reiki can give the chakras balance and the organs health.

Chakras and the endocrine system:

The chakras change energy from one level to another by distributing Ki (also called Chi, Prana, Mana depending on belief system) to the physical body. This is partly done through the endocrine system that regulates other systems in the body. According to tradition each chakra also corresponds to one of the major glands in the body. The Reiki hand positions not only cover the chakras but also major organs and glands.

The root chakra is in relation to the adrenal gland.
The navel chakra
to the ovaries or testicles.
The solar plexus chakra
is related to the pancreas.
The heart chakra
belongs together with the thymus.
The throat chakra
corresponds to the thyroid gland.
The third eye chakra
has a connection to the pituitary gland.
The crown chakra
is usually connected to the pineal gland.

The endocrine system plays a major role for the body's daily health. The glands release hormones directly into the blood stream and control all aspects of growth, development and daily activities.

Physical problems are often the result of a blockage in the energy flow in the system made up of meridians and chakras causing the organs or glands to not function properly.



Hara (Navel)

Solar Plexus



Third Eye



4 petaled Lotus

6 petaled Lotus

10 petaled Lotus

12 petaled Lotus

16 petaled Lotus

96 petaled Lotus

1000 petaled Lotus






Light blue


Violet, white


Between genitals and anus

Slightly above genital area below navel

Slightly up from navel

Center of chest

Between inner collarbone

Between the eyes

Top and center of head


Physical Entity

Reproduction of being

Formation of being

Loving beyond the self

Expression of being

Knowing of being

Pure being


Links the individual with the physical world

Center for sexual energy, creativity and pure emotions

This is where the personality is formed. Feeling and being are integrated here.

The ability to love without fear and self consciousness

Deals with all related to sound both physical and metaphysical

This chakra enables the recognition of being

Here the human being connects with the universe







All elements

All elements


Agate, Bloodstone Garnet, Ruby, Smoky Quartz

Moon stone, Carnelian Tourmaline

Amber, Tiger's eye, Citrine, Yellow Topaz, Agate

Emerald, Green Jade, Rose Quartz

Aquamarine Turquoise, Chalcedon

Lapis Lazuli, Sodalite, Opal, Indigo Sapphire

Amethyst, Crystal, Topaz, Alexandrite, Sapphire


Cedar, Clove, Cypress, Marjoram, Myrrh

wood, Petitgrain, Ylang Ylang

Chamomile Lemon, Thyme

Geranium Bergamot, Rose, Clary Sage

Lavender, Sandal wood, Neroli, Sage

Basil, Jasmine, Rosemary Patchouli

Frankincense, Olibanum, Oakmoss, Lotus







All plus 6th sense

Beyond senses


Calms, dissolves tension

Stimulates desire, rejuvenates

Eases aggression, pacifies

Brings peace and understanding

Brings harmony to speech and voice

Under standing, harmony

Cosmic aspect -
no self limitations


Etheric body

Emotional body

Mental Body

Astral Body

Divine Will

Celestial body

Ketheric Template

Body parts

Bones, teeth, nails, legs, arms, intestine anus, prostate, blood, cell structure, adrenal gland

Reproductive organs, kidney, bladder, pelvic area, sperm, all liquids and fluids of the body

Abdomen, lower back, stomach, spleen, liver, digestive system, gall bladder, autonomic nervous system, pancreas

Heart, upper back, rib cage, chest, skin, circulatory system, lower lungs, abdominal cavity, thymus gland

Lungs, vocal cords, bronchials throat, jaw, neck, thyroid, voice, nape of neck, thyroid gland

Face, nose, eyes, sinus, cerebellum, pituitary gland

Brain, cerebellum, skull, pineal gland

Massage direction female

Anti clockwise


Anti clockwise


Anti clockwise


Anti clockwise

Massage direction male


Anti clockwise


Anti Clockwise


Anti clockwise


















Zodiac and planets

Aries, Mars, Taurus, Scorpio, Capricorn, Saturn

Cancer, Libra, Scorpio, Moon, Venus, Mars, Mercury

Leo, Sagittarius Virgo, Sun, Jupiter, Mars, Mercury

Leo. Libra, Sun, Venus, Saturn

Gemini, Taurus, Aquarius, mars, Venus, Uranus

Sagittarius, Aquarius, Pisces, Mercury, Venus, Uranus

Capricorn, Pieces, Saturn, Neptune

Here you have the general overview about the chakras and their relation to other elements and factors. Keep in mind, Reiki is the universal force of omnipresence and power. Reiki is all there is. In future lectures I will explain you how to treat even the past tense and the future on the quantum level.

So stay tuned.

This is the bottom slider area. You can edit this text and also insert any element here. This is a good place if you want to put an opt-in form or a scarcity countdown.